Home / Tips for travelers / Excursion to Tsarskoe Selo and town of Pushkin: what to see, how to get from Peter , the mode of operation

Excursion to Tsarskoe Selo and town of Pushkin: what to see, how to get from Peter , the mode of operation

Kak iz Pitera dobratsya do Carskogo sela

State Museum-reserve "Tsarskoe Selo" — a monument of architecture and art, located in the Leningrad region about twenty-five kilometers South of St. Petersburg.

Tsarskoe Selo is one of the most favorite places of tourists. In this article we will discuss how to get from St. Petersburg to the world-famous garden-Park complex.

So, to reach the town of Pushkin (Tsar's village) from St. Petersburg in several ways:

  1. Trains coming from St. Petersburg. On trains coming from the Vitebsk station to Pushkin to "Tsarskoye Selo" can be reached in just half an hour.

    In order to catch the train which leaves on weekends every 15-20 minutes, should follow to metro station "Pushkinskaya" or "Zvenigorodskaya".

    From the station "Tsarskoye Selo" the green areas you can walk about 2 km or take a bus To a-382 to a stop in leontyevskaya street, 370, 378 to the end of building the Greenhouse, K-371 to the temple Signs. Route-545 passes and Tsarskoye Selo to Pavlovsk.
  2. Buses and taxistraveling to Pushkin metro station "Moskovskaya". Place of departure is located on the reverse side of the "Singing fountains" near the monument to Lenin.

    If you want to get to the Catherine Park, you can take taxibus K-287, 347a, 545, stop - the angle formed by the Greenhouse and Garden streets.

    On the bus It-342 it is easily accessible from the alley Singing and the garden of the Lyceum, stop, street Middle. Bus number 187 departing from Moskovsky Prospekt is the Alexander Park, Fedorovskiy Cathedral and the chamber of arms.
  3. Minibus from metro station "Kupchino". Taxibus K-347, 286 can be connected directly to the Catherine Park out on the street.

    If you use the bus To-545a, you need to get to the gates of Moscow and a bit to go.

rezhim raboty Carskogo Sela v Sankt-Peterburge

Before heading on a tour of the Museum-reserve in advance need to decide what to watch in Pushkin and Tsarskoe Selo, as the on-site garden-Park complex with a total area of 300 hectares located more than 100 architectural structures: from palaces and monuments to pavilions, bridges, numerous marble monuments, exotic plants, executed in imitation of the Gothic, Turkish, Chinese architecture, giving the corners of parks romantic character.

Most impressive historical and cultural monuments of the city include the Catherine and Alexandrovsky palaces with their framing of the Catherine and Alexander parks.

Catherine Museum

Built by the architect F. Rastrelli in the style of Russian Baroque Catherine's Museum is located in the Central part of the reserve.

Among the lavishly decorated halls of most interest to visitors to the Museum calls worldwide famous Amber room.

In the Great hall and the "Golden enfilade" of the rooms you can admire the corresponding periods of the reign of empresses Elisabeth and Catherine, and the Emperor Alexander the first artistic products of talented artists.

Alexander Palace

The architectural style of the Alexander Palace - strict classicism. At the same time for decoration of the Imperial quarters of the Palace used the art Nouveau style.

Received extensive damage during the bombing in world war II buildings underwent partial reconstruction. The opening of the first exhibition in the Palace took place in 1997, and the final transfer of the building to the Museum occurred in 2009 the exhibition features items belonging to the family of Emperor Nicholas II.

Conservation area in Tsarskoye Selo

Excursion to Tsarskoye Selo a very exciting and stunning beauty of the parks nature reserve, a masterpiece of garden art, combining diverse styles followed since the reign of Catherine the great to the reign of Emperor Nicholas II.

Very interesting designed by renowned architects landscape art Rozin and Foxtom layout and style techniques used in the construction of a number located in different parts of the complex entertaining pavilions. For pavilions, built in the late 18th and 19th centuries, are characteristic of the Chinese and Roman styles.

The story of the creation of Tsarskoye Selo

Tsarskoye Selo was founded during the 1710-1720 HS as located outside the city, summer residence of the Russian emperors with the construction of a nearby settlement for the maintenance of the Royal family staff called Sarskaya Myza, then changed to Tsarskoye Selo.


For 1811-1843 gg In Tsarskoye Selo acted Imperial Lyceum, where he studied A. S. Pushkin.

Creating unique works that adorn the Museum complex, were the best architects, painters and sculptors of the time. The world famous fountain "Girl with a jug" was built in 1816g by sculptor P. Sokolov.

After the overthrow of Nicholas II, the Museum was created on the basis of the Park-Palace complex, it was called Children's Village, and the buildings had been occupied with educational and health institutions.

Gthe city received its name in honor of A. S. Pushkin, who grew up in it. One word in Tsarskoye Selo there is something to see and where to go.

Alexander Park

The Park covers an area of 188 hectares. It is possible to allocate two parts of the Alexander Park. One part is designed by Gerard outstanding gardeners Schroeder and Kondakov New garden.

The second part is a Landscape Park, designed by Menelaws and Ivanov in a traditional English Park style. This part of the Park is decorated with buildings in the Gothic style.

The Lyceum garden

The Lyceum garden was established in 1818 near birch grove on the territory adjacent to the Tsarskoye Selo Lyceum. Each class received a small plot.

At the beginning of the garden was the gazebo and the Playground for the pupils of the Lyceum. In 1899 the garden was a monument to A. Pushkin, created in bronze by R. Bach.

The mode of operation of the Tsarskoye Selo In St. Petersburg:

  • the working hours of the Museum complex: 10:00-18:00;
  • offices are open from 10:00 to 17:00;
  • days off are Tuesday and in the period October-April - Monday in the last week of each month.

For schools and other educational institutions the cost of a ticket is two times lower total.

Catherine Park can be visited any day. It opens at 9:00, closes at 21:00. In the period November-April and in other months is after 18:00 the entrance is free.