Home / Of the country for vacation / Europe / Austria / Lichtenstein, Hochosterwitz castles Austria: photos and history

Lichtenstein, Hochosterwitz castles Austria: photos and history

Zamki Avstrii

Austria is a country of beautiful nature, clean lake water and mountain slopes.

But no less attractive for tourists are the medieval castles that are scattered all 9 districts of the state. Their attendance is very high throughout the year.

Each of these sites is rich in its unique history and architecture. Today, many of them cultural events.

Some buildings converted into hotelsthat preserved the spirit of the middle Ages.



This castle is the ancestral home of a noble family of Liechtenstein, who ruled in the same small Principality. It is situated near the town of Maria-Enzersdorf, South of Vienna. The castle rises at an altitude of 300 m above sea level.

The Foundation of this fortress to be built in 1130 by the founder of the Lichtenstein family. In 200 years there are the first written information about the castle, in which he referred to as the "house of Liechtenstein".

Over time, the castle was completed, it changed owners. During the siege in 1529 it was destroyed. It stood in ruins until the end of the 17th century, but was rebuilt. But 100 years later the castle was again destroyed by the Ottoman Turks.

In 1807 Prince Johann Joseph bought the ruins, near which was built the Palace. Reconstruction of the Schloss Lichtenstein castle began in the late 19th century, and lasted 13 years.

Another blow to the monument occurred during the Second World war. After its completion the castle was restored, after which he loaned to the local municipality. Since 2007, the castle again came into the possession of the Principality.

Zamok Lihtenshtejn

Liechtenstein richly decorated with different architectural elements – balconies, turrets, and crenellated finial. The most archaic parts of the castle is its underground facilities and bases of walls.

The Central Great hall is framed by beamed ceilings. In the hall are pieces of furniture of the 19th century and weapons.

The Eastern balcony of the Palace overlooking the suburbs of Vienna. One of the oldest buildings in Liechtenstein is the chapel of SV. Pancras, which was built by the founder of the genus.

Its highlight is considered to be depicted in red chalk the Crucifixion of Christ. Today in chapel the worship for the parishioners.

The castle is located at the address 1 Am Hausberg, Maria Enzersdorf. You can visit it only with a guide. Tours are conducted hourly. The Palace is open for visitors from 10:00 to 16:00 from March to October.

In the period of large influx of tourists in July and August, the castle continues to work until 17:00. Winter tours end for 15:00.

To visit Liechtenstein is possible for 9 Euro per adult person. For students and pensioners € 7, children € 2.


He is considered one of the most beautiful castles of the country. It is located in the most southern province of Austria – Carinthia and rises 160 m above sea level. In good weather it can be seen from a distance of 30 km.

To Hochosterwitz leads road-the serpentine, passing through 14 gates.

The castle was founded in the 9th century, when the land was in the possession of the Principality of Carantania. Hochosterwitz was built as a fortress to protect from the attacks of enemies. For a long time the castle was owned by rod Osterwitz, which it gave Duke Bernard Spanheim.

In the 15th century the fortress became the property of the Emperor Frederick III after the death in captivity of the last representative of the genus Osterwitz. In the 16th century, Ferdinand I gave the castle Christophe Khevenhuller, the Governor of Carinthia.

At the end of the 16th century architecture of building has undergone significant changes. Since it is not rebuilt. Today the castle is owned by the Austrian family of Khevenhuller. For tourists is available only part of the castle.

Zamok Gohostervitc

Hochosterwitz is located on a cliff, and includes several internal and external courtyards. Outdoor yards feature outbuildings, they had been housing for servants. The outer court is the ancient Church.

Hochosterwitz Central courtyard surrounded by arches. Its territory is the ancestral chapel of Khevenhuller. For tourists it is closed. Inside the castle is a Museum with a large collection of relic weapons and armor.

Address: 1 Hochosterwitz, Launsdorf. To deliver to him may tour bus or taxi.

The road from the foot directly to the castle over 600 m. Therefore, to facilitate the ascent, the Elevator was installed. But those who rise on foot, has the ability to see all 14 castle gate.

In the period from may toSeptember the monument is open to visitors from 9:00 to 18:00. From October while working castle an hour less than before 17:00.

In the presence of a card of Carinthia entrance ticket will cost 10.8 euros. For all other – 12 euros. Lift access is 6 euros.

The medieval castle of Hohen-werfen (Hohenwerfen) in Austria through the eyes of tourists

The Hohen-werfen

This castle is 40 km from Salzburg, near the town of Werfen on a hill with a height of 155 m. It is surrounded by forested mountain peaks.

It was built as a fortress for the Salzburg environs. The Hohen-werfen is one of the largest castles in Europe, which is very well preserved to the present day.

The Foundation structure was laid by Prince Gebhard in 1077. The fortress served as a reliable pass protection from foreign invaders.

From time to time, the castle was rebuilt and expanded. For example, in the 14th century by Beardom III it was adapted to artillery units, which appeared at the time.

Serious damage was waiting for the Hohen-werfen during the peasants ' war in the 16th century. Its restoration took 20 years. The last significant architectural change occurred in 1623, when it was built water tank.

To destroy this monument tried after the occurrence of Salzburg a part of Austria. But thanks to Franz II, this was avoided.

Zamok Hoenverfen

In the early 19th century, first began restoration of the castle. After a fire in 1931, he again had to restore. Since 1987, on site Hohenwerfen created the Museum and opened it for visitors.

To get into the courtyard Hohenwerfen must pass through 4 gates, which have a dipping grid. On the Eastern side built a powerful defense Bastion.

In the southern part of the Palace is an underground chapel, which is decorated with a round tower. To the North-East adjoins another tower Fallturm, which can penetrate only through the upper floor.

The medieval interiors in Hohenwerfen not preserved. The style of the era create a gift shops, and Museum of weapons. In the castle bred birds of prey and often hold events with a performance of hunting falcons. In the local chapel, you can enjoy the wedding.

The castle is located at Burgstrasse 2, Werfen. To get to it by bus number 5 or 25 to the stop "Petersbrunnstrasse". Taxi from Salzburg will take place in 20 minutes. Goes to the castle funicular.

The Hohen-werfen is open to visitors from 09:00 to 19:00 in July and August. In may, June, September and from 09:00 to 18:00. In other months the castle is open from 09:30 to 17:00.

Free admission to this monument entitled the holders of the card of Salzburg. For everyone else the entrance fee is 10 Euro, children – 5,5 Euro. The price of a family ticket EUR 23.

This is only a small part of the many medieval castles of Austria. Each of them has its own history.

They were subjected to numerous attacks, destruction, transformation. But to date they remain majestic, and keep the spirit of his era. Therefore, the interest in the locks from the visitors every year is not quenched.