Where is the Small Livadia Palace in Crimea and how to get from Yalta?
The Crimean Peninsula is famous for its richness in historical sites of various time periods. Therefore, for the inquisitive tourist, with the ability to make correct travel plans, is an endless source of new experiences and inspiration.
In the plan of every person having an idea about the course of world war II, includes visit to the Livadia Palace, famous as the venue of the Yalta conference involving Stalin, Roosevelt and Churchill. How best to get from Yalta to Livadia Palace?
Livadia on the map
The village of Livadia is in Crimea, on the mountainous South coast, namely on the Eastern slope of mount Mogabi. Through it passes the highway from Yalta to Sevastopol.
The story of tragic love you can learn from reading here about another Palace of the Crimean Peninsula - the estate of Princess Gagarina.
to content ↑
Journey to Yalta can stain not only the visiting of the Swallow's nest, but the Livadia Palace. The Palace Museum is five kilometers from Yalta, in the coastal area, in a small village of the same name and port.
However, the overland route is not the easiest, due to the specific terrain and walking on this route and did not succeed.
How to get from Yalta?
There are several ways:
- Take a tour and drive safely the assigned space for the stories of specially trained guide. Quite acceptable for a person who is poorly oriented and it has never been on the Peninsula. However, there are some disadvantages: not always enough time for a thorough inspection, a relaxing walk and detailed photo, price is usually not the budget.
- From the pier in the Central promenade of Yalta with regularity every 40 minutes go ships and boats to Livadia.
- Shuttle buses are perfectly acceptable when traveling in the direction of the Palace. Buses №11, 100, 108 walk from the bus station of Yalta, the end point of "Livadia", then a short walk down the mountain in the direction of excursion of the object.
- By private car with the use of pointers and GPS getting lost is impossible.
This route is the most pleasant in the hot summer months, plus the opportunity to enjoy the sea coastal zone.
One of the common ways to get to the Crimea is the train. Read here, how is the train journey.
Experienced and seasoned travelers suggest getting there by bus and back by water. In order not to spoil the impression of the sights lift from located on the coast of Livadia Palace to the bus stop.
Time and attendance rules
The Park and adjacent areas open to visitors always walk here free. To visit the exhibition and get inside, you must purchase tickets at the box office. The box offices are open 10 am to 16 PM, weekend days - Monday and Wednesday. There are discounts for pupils, students and pensioners, the main thing is to bring a supporting document.
Livadia Palace has a long history, beginning in 1834 with the purchase of the commander of the Greek battalion of the estate of Earl L. S. Potocki. It was he who built upon the project of F. F. Elson here the first manor house and planted landscape Park.
The estate of Livadia was purchased for the Imperial family of Alexander II and since 1861 is the official country residence. But after the arrival of the Royal family, it became clear that built the former owner of the house is very small and does not meet all the needs of the yard.
Design and construction continued to engage an architect Ippolit Monighetti.
After that was built many surrounding areas, including SmallPalace for the crown Prince. 20 years later, after building flooding, it was relocated in its original form.
The Palace was a worthy decoration of Livadia, he was in a Park area with lots of fountains, arbors for rest and literally immersed in the greenery. This Park was a work of Haeckel. The Imperial family of Alexander II, and later Alexander III and Nicholas II loved this place and definitely every summer visited him, therefore, Yalta gradually became the "summer capital".
In the early twentieth century, the old building fell into disrepair. In 1909 he planned the demolition of the Palace and the construction of more modern. The designing was entrusted to N. P. Krasnov, landscaping - E. Renger. Special attention was paid to the drainage system and the drainage galleries. And in 17 months has built a new white Palace in the style of the Italian Renaissance.
In Soviet times, in a big White Palace was the resort. Later during the II world war the Palace was occupied and looted, the Small Palace was destroyed by the Nazis during the retreat. Later the building housed a military hospital. In 1945, the white hall of the Grand Palace held a memorial Yalta conference of the heads of USSR, USA and great Britain, which had adopted the principles of the postwar world.
Also, there was the government cottage, sanatorium Museum, which were two exhibitions open to visitors.
In 1993, the entire complex has officially received again the status of a Museum. And is thus ready to receive visitors until today. The Park contains a gazebo and fountains from the time of the emperors. In addition to the Grand Palace to see available:
- The corps of pages;
- the Palace of Minister of court of Fredericks;
- Holy cross Church.
The grounds and facade
The most important building – the White Palace is an illustration of the symbiosis of three Italian style: Renaissance, classicism and Tudor. The building oozes grandeur with clear horizontal and vertical shapes, unfamiliarity to a large number of open galleries and arcades combined with ornaments. Thoughtful framing of the Windows and the main entrance is associated with elements of a Palazzo of the Renaissance.
In the center of the building are flowery patios Italian, Moorish and Arabic. On the left is adjacent to the observation gallery and the stairs to the right is a tower, at the coast, built a Church, a separate wing for offices, for dining and living rooms.
This compositional decision has enabled the compact and convenient to place all the necessary facilities.
The Palace is located in a green area with lots of fountains, galleries and recreation areas.
Crimean resorts offer a comprehensive vacation, any tourist will find leisure for everyone. Read in this articlewhere to go on the Peninsula.
to content ↑
Interior trim was initially compiled in an easy and modern for the beginning of the XX century the art Nouveau style. Later part of the building was restored and reconstructed the interior of the Imperial era for the Museum.
So you can see:
- lobby with marble fireplace and oak doors;
- formal dining room with the stucco of Italian sculptors on the ceiling;
- the receiving office of His Majesty, with antique sculptures, marble fireplace and mahogany finish;
- billiard room, wood paneled chestnut;
- the bedroom of the emperors, decorated with a maple tree with a large balcony for breakfasts;
- strict library with mahogany finish and paintings by Russian artists;
- the oval office of Her Majesty, the color of ash.
The tour of the Palace lasts about an hour. Usually show all the rooms of the Imperial family, telling their brief history and describing the architecture and decoration, as well as paintings.
On the ground floor part of the tour is the Cabinet, where he held the Yalta conference in 1945.
Also includes visit of the courtyards and monuments: Stalin, Roosevelt, Churchill, and Nicholas II. Also on site there are exhibitions both permanent and temporary.
- This Palace became the first building of the XX century in Russia, where he was the current Elevator, which survived until our days.
- In the Italian courtyard is a column of grey marble with inscriptions in Arabic script. Earlier it was considered a gift from the Persian Shah. But in the translation of poetry, only one of the fourteen were in Arabic, others were in Turkish. Apparently the column was a trophy of the war with Turkey of 1877-1878.
- Livadia Palacedescribed in the works of Mark TWAIN "the Innocents abroad". A tour of the American hotel was conducted by Alexander II in 1867.
More information about Livadia Palace you will gather from this video: