Nikandrova Pustyn in the Pskov region: why a dip in the source?
Nikandrova Pustyn (Pskov oblast) is one of the most important and interesting monasteries of the North-West of Russia. Originating in the XVI century and experienced its heyday in the nineteenth century, the monastery became famous throughout the country for its healing springs.
Poetry search engine - photos
Like many other monasteries, poetry search engine was not functioning during the Soviet years, and the buildings of the monastery were almost completely destroyed.
Nowadays the monastery revives and returns to its former glory one of the spiritual centers of the Pskov region and across the country.
Its name nikandrova Pustyn was in honor of St. Nikandr Dweller, retired from the world of deserts. In place of solitude Nikandr after his death and was founded poetry search engine.
Nikandrova Pustyn is located in the West of Russia, Pskov region, about 70 kilometers from the regional center. The monastery is located on the river dem'yanka near the town of Porkhov. Exact address: Pskov region, Porkhov district, village Lubowitz.
The history of the monastery
The monastery was founded in 1585 by the layman Isaiah who took monastic vows and became the first Abbot of the monastery. The monastery was arranged in place of the feat nikandra, retired from the world and spent here in prayer for 50 years. After his death, and Nikandr was founded the monastery that was to become one of the most important monasteries of the North-West of Russia.
If you decide to go to Nikandrov deserts on the machine, find out here some of the secrets of his travel across Russia by car.
First century life in the monastery was quite difficult: in 1665, during the Russo-Polish war, the monastery was ravaged, and 8 years later in 1673 the wooden buildings of the desert is almost completely burned during a severe fire. Due to this disaster the monastery was completely rebuilt in stone. In 1686 the Holy relics were uncovered Nikandr, then the monk was canonized.
In the XIX century the monastery flourished and became one of the largest monasteries of the Pskov province. In the late 20-ies of the decision of the Soviet authorities the monastery was closed, the buildings of the monastery were sold for scrapping and was used as a building material in the construction of the adjacent military camp.
The revival of the monastery began in 2000, when the decision was made about his recovery, a year later was established the Board of Trustees.
The first restored temple Nikandrova desert was a wooden Church of the icon "seeking of the lost".
How to get there?
To reach Nikandrova desert vehicles should be out on the road P-56 (Novgorod the Great — Pskov), or on the road P-23 (Saint Petersburg — Pskov), then you should turn off the highway and drive to the village Dubrovno, and then reach the village Dagoska, which leads the 10-kilometer dirt road to Nikandrova desert.
When traveling by train, should get to the bottom of the station to Board the train Pskov-the Bottom to leave the station Sosanie, and then make the 10-kilometer hike from the village of Khilovo to the monastery.
Description of the territory of the monastery
Since 2003 head of the monastery is the Abbot Spyridon, whose efforts deserts not only revived and became known for its healing springs but also became an important centre for the rehabilitation of drug addicts. This social role of the monastery makes it even more important for companies.
If you prefer to travel by hitchhiking Home, or just dream about it - read our article.
Lost in the forests of the monastery consists of:
- 3 temples;
- 5 Holy wells, on which erected a chapel;
- Fraternal buildings, which are home to the brothers, novices and staff.
First in the revived monastery settled the monk Gabriel. In the restoration of the monastery involved a lot of novices, laymen and even the soldiers of the 76th airborne division. Nowadays the monastery is inhabited by 8 people brethren, and 10 laborers.
In 2005, the monastery was returned to the iconthe monk Nikandr with a particle of his relics. To others especially revered icons of the monastery are the icon healer Panteleimon with a particle of his relics, the icon "seeking of the lost" icon of the Holy virgin. In addition, revived the annual procession at the end of may in Porkhov, first held in the mid-nineteenth century in commemoration of the deliverance of Pskov province from the pandemic of cholera.
All the temples built in tsarist times the territory of the monastery was destroyed in the Soviet Union, in our time at the monastery was built 3 functioning of the Church.
- The Cathedral of the Annunciation (2010). The main temple of the monastery, whose construction began in 2006, and the consecration took place in 2010. Was built on the ruins of the Cathedral of the Annunciation, built in the second half of the XVII century. Architect at construction was made by G. Sokolov.
- The wooden Church of the icon "seeking of the lost" (2002). The first of the renewed temples of the monastery. The temple has another name — the chapel of the cross. Built on the site of the destroyed Holy cross chapel at the Western gate of the monastery. The Church is a modest single-domed Church with a belfry in the chapel. The name of the architect of the wooden Church were not preserved.
- The Church of the Royal Martyrs (2005). Wooden temple, which has a second name Gennadievsky Church (the Church of Gennady, Patriarch of Constantinople). Built on the ruins of a stone Church. Is a small wooden Church in the shape of a quadrangle.
The Cathedral was built in the tradition of Pskov-Novgorod architecture and is a classic four-column Church with five domes.
Some remnant of paganism can be called a kind of veneration of natural objects, which was practiced in the monastery in the middle ages. The most revered place of the monastery was a huge oak treeunder which according to legend took pilgrims the monk Nikandr, and later was his grave. Later, in the XVII century on this place was built the Cathedral of the Annunciation.
Read also our article about the monastery of Montserrat, which is located on a mountain in Spain and is also a favorite place of pilgrims.
Unfortunately, oak did not survive to our time, he probably burned during the great fire of 1673.
Also, the locals and pilgrims in pre-Petrine Russia worshiped sacred stones, which are on the territory Nikandrova desert was two.
One of them, called "Vozglavila"for a long time was kept on the porch of the Annunciation Cathedral. In 1735, by order of Feofan Prokopovich, he was taken to Petersburg and placed in the archive of the Holy Synod in storage, where he kept at least until the beginning of the revolution. Then his traces are lost.
Another sacred stone of the monastery, called "God's deal" was maintained within the desert until the destruction of the monastery during the Soviet era. Further information about his whereabouts are also missing.
Poetry search engine famous for its Holy springs which are considered healing:
- Source Alexander Svirsky;
- Peter and Paul ;
- The source of the Kazan icon of the Mother of God;
- The source of the life-giving cross;
- Nikandrovsky source, which is considered the main monastery.
In the 60-ies of the sources was flooded with fuel oil, to stop the pilgrimage to the faithful and afflicted him healing. However, the springs are self cleaned and now this barbaric act does not resemble anything.
to content ↑
Healing springs formed as a result of fracture in the earth's crust and reaching the surface groundwater. At any time of the year they keep the temperature constant at +4 to +6°C.
- The source of the Kazan mother of God is located at the entrance to the monastery. Its water is not transparent and has a bitter taste due to the presence of peat. Near this spring are a pointer, which tells about the location of other sources.
The source of Alexander Svirsky is situated in a forest at a distance of fifteen kilometers from the monastery. It got its name in honor of a mentor nikandra of St. Alexander Svirsky.
Due to the high content of radon, the water in this spring is lightly colored in a bluish color. Also, due to the high content of chemical compounds of iron with other substances in the water, the grass around the spring acquires a yellow tint, which is the source of the popular name "Yellow".
- Nikandrovsky source is located to the South from the monastery and has a high content of hydrogen sulfide, and near it established a chapel in honor of Reverend. According to legend, this spring was dug by Nikandr and used fordrinking. This spring bears the name "Silver source", which is confirmed by the chemical analysis of the water — it really increased the content of silver ions.
Peter and Paul the source and the source of life-giving cross is located to the North-West of the monastery and are United under the roof of one of the chapel. Despite the fact that the keys are close, the water in them comes from different depths and different in composition.
The source of the life-giving cross carries a"live" water, which is used by the monks in daily life. This water is particularly pleasant taste and to try any who visited the monastery, the pilgrim or tourist.
Another source, Peter and Paul, carries water content of hydrogen sulfide, to drink which is recommended only to patients who require healing.
It is the deepest source Nikandrova desert, its depth is 7 meters. It is equipped with a plunge pool in which to dip many pilgrims.
Another religious place, the new Athos monastery in Abkhazia and around the city of New Athos, you can read here.
Healing properties, or why to dive into these waters?
Most importantly, I appreciate Nikandrov deserts and she is very popular — the healing properties of its famous springs.
The source of the Kazan icon of the Mother of God not by chance is the popular name of the "Eye". It is believed that it helps in the treatment of eye diseases and other pathologies associated with this sense organ.
The glandular connection of the source of Alexander Svirsky helps in diseases of the digestive system and problems with the gastrointestinal tract. In addition, in this source the pilgrims take radon baths, which help with skin problems, diseases of the musculoskeletal system and the circulatory system.
However, due to the fact that radon is a radioactive element active, swimming in the fountain is strictly contraindicated to people with cancer and benign tumors.
Nikandrovsky source is very popular because of the long list of diseases, which help it water. The list includes various arthritis, rheumatism, other diseases of musculoskeletal system.
In addition, the water from this spring helps with toothache, which is reflected in its popular name "the Tooth" source.
Peter and Paul water source used by the pilgrims for the treatment of diseases of the nervous system, diseases of the sexual sphere, and diseases of the heart and circulatory system.
We recommend you to see the video tour of Nikandrova desert: